McCrossen Building, 1820 Hewitt Avenue (1894)
This brick commercial block includes extensive brick corbelling above the windows. Built for local grocers Thayer and McCrossen, the building briefly served as a post office in the 1890s. It was the last building constructed in the early 1890s boom, all for $15,000. Brick was supplied by the Everett Electric Brick Company.
Occupants over the years include Everett Parlor Furniture Manufacturing Company, Sherman Louis (clothing), Manila Hotel which had 24 rooms. Jack’s Mens Shop opened in 1952 on the corner and expanded in 1963, remaining in business for nearly 50 years.